Indian cricket team made its test cricket debut in 1932. However few Indian players were the members of the English cricket team including Kumar RANJITSINHJI and KS DULEEPSINHJI when English people were ruling over India. Indian cricket test team played its first ever test match in 1932 in England and this team was led by CK NAYUDU before Indian independence. The team played very well. Mohammad NISSAR took 5 for 93 runs and 1 for 42 runs in that match against England. This test match was awarded with the status of test match although it was of only 3 days. England while batting first scored 258 runs, but Indian team failed while chasing 250+ runs and got bowled out for 189 runs. England in second innings scored 275 runs and gave India a target of 346 runs, which was almost impossible. Indian team was bowled out for 187 runs and lost by 158 runs.

Indian team played its first test series as an independent country in 1948 against Australia at Brisbane. The Australian team was marshalled by Sir Don Bradman Where as Indian team was guided by LALA AMARNATH. The Australian team out shined the Indian cricket team by winning the test series with 4-0 in the 5 match test series. Finally after 5 years of independence, Indian team got its first test victory in madras against England in 1952 and India’s first ever series win was against was against Pakistan in the same year i.e. 1952. India gave a stunning performance in the year 1954 against Pakistan by drawing a 5 match test series with 0-0. Indian Team was thrashed badly in the decade of 1950-1960 as they lost against Australia twice and they got defeated by England and West Indies also, but the tables were turning after 1960 as Indian team won a test series against England in 1961-62. Indian team started developing themselves as they won against New Zealand in 1965-66 and stylishly tied up the series against the three big sides i.e. Australia, Pakistan and England, they also won their first series outside India against New Zealand in 1967-68.

One of India’s best test cricket batsmen SUNIL GAVASKAR played his first test match for India in 1970-71 against West Indies and proved the selectors that he was born for Indian cricket team by scoring 750+ runs in a single series and let India win the test series by 1-0. He transformed the Indian test team along with the players like BISHEN BEDI. In 1980’s more players joined Indian test team who gave outstanding performances. Under the leadership and captaincy of KAPIL DEV, Indian team won its first cricket world cup in 1983 against West Indies followed by a stunning victory in world cricket championship in Australia. Finally the day came when an outstanding batsman SUNIL GAVASKAR became the first batsman in the history of test cricket to get pass 10000 test runs and moved on to set a record of 34 test centuries. A great all rounder, KAPIL DEV was declared as highest wicket taker on the day he broke the record of 434 test wickets. His record of most number of test wickets was also broken by ANIL KUMBLE and many more bowlers. Then came the era when a class batsman was introduced in Indian test team and his name is SACHIN TENDULKAR. He showed his class every time he walks out in the middle. At that time, no one can imagine that a young boy with 5 feet 3 inches in height can bring so much destruction in world test cricket. He got the title of Master blaster later on when he surpassed the record of 10000 test runs and broke the record of 34 test centuries. Mahindra Singh DHONI took over the responsibility of captaincy of Indian test team after a successful tenure of RAHUL DRAVID as a captain. In 2010, first time Indian test team bagged the no1 position in the ICC world test rankings. In 2013, the master blaster scored his 50th test ton and registered a record of 51 test tons in the same year. The Indian test cricket team suffered with a huge loss when master blaster retired from test cricket after scoring 16000 test runs in Mumbai.

The journey still continues as recently after the retirement of MSD from Indian cricket team, VIRAT KOHLI has took over the burden of captaincy of Indian test team on his shoulders. November 2015-16 has been great from the point of view of Indian test cricket as India has not been defeated by any team for consecutively 18 matches and especially in 2016, Captain VIRAT KOHLI has broken many records including the record of 5 consecutive test series win against Sri Lanka, West Indies, New Zealand, South Africa and England in a calendar year and the record of 14 consecutive test match wins making India the no 1 test team again this year. Captain VIRAT KOHLI has scored three double tons this year and a young Karun Nair became the second Indian to score a triple ton in a test match. VIRAT KOHLI is also the leading test run scorer of the year 2016. It can be easily said that Indian team is running a victory car under the guidance of VIRAT KOHLI and this is just the start. I hope Indian team will maintain its No 1 position in ICC test rankings for a very long time.

For more blogs of different categories  please visit our home page BLOG BY CHANCE

Share this:


  • January 5, 2017 at 2:26 pm

    Wonderful !

  • January 5, 2017 at 3:24 pm

    amazingly written!

  • September 27, 2017 at 10:23 am

    I came to your HISTORY OF INDIAN CRICKET NICELY EXPLAINED page and noticed you could have a lot more traffic. I have found that the key to running a website is making sure the visitors you are getting are interested in your subject matter. We can send you targeted traffic and we let you try it for free. Get over 1,000 targeted visitors per day to your website. Start your free trial: http://segundaibc.com.br/go/1i Unsubscribe here: http://priscilarodrigues.com.br/url/11


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *